Another “Original” – Hamburgers

I got a compliment of the highest order the other night and decided to officially claim another recipe as my own. I made cheeseburgers for dinner the other night and Jeff said he’d rather “eat these than go out to eat a burger just about anywhere.” Technically I stole the recipe from Mom, but she’s never written it down so I’m going to stick my name on them ;). Here are Chelsea’s Hamburgers!

  • 1 pound hamburger Good quality meat makes a difference to me, but don’t go too lean. Dewig 80/20 is my go to.
  • 1/2 cups ground saltine crackers or bread crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 1 clove minced garlic
    • or 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 cup minced onion
    • or 1 1/2 teaspoons onion powder
  • 3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • Salt and pepper to taste (I use something like 1 1/2 and 1 teaspoons respectively)
  • 1/8 cup or 3 tablespoons milk (Ish. Use enough to add moisture but don’t use so much that the burgers won’t shape)

Mix all but the milk in a large bowl (I find hand mixing to work best) then add as much milk as the mixture will allow. Form into patties (1/4 lb patties for larger buns or 1/5 lb patties for cheapie $1 buns) the thickness of about a finger and let set overnight to let the flavors meld. I’ll usually make a few pounds at a time and freeze them for easy dinners. Freeze them as patties on a cookie sheet in a single layer and bag after frozen solid.

For cooking I use a cast iron skillet because I can’t have grills in the apartments. In a skillet frozen patties cook well over medium heat. It might take a little longer but at the lower temp they will cook through before getting burned. Drop the patties into the pan and do no flip them until the crust is formed and as brown as you can stand. Flip and repeat. Don’t squish all the juice out or fidget with them and mess up the crust! I like cooking them frozen because they keep their shape pretty well but refrigerated meat might behave similarly.

That’s all there is to it! I’ve almost perfected my toppings, but dress to your taste. We make them on toasted buns with Hellmann’s mayo, Olive Hill “Kosher Hamburger Dill Chips” in the normal sized jar (the pickles by the same name in the large jar are definitely not the same taste or texture), Kraft singles for supreme meltiness, and ketchup. Jeff adds tomato if Mom shares her crops. The buns are the last piece of my puzzle… I’ve tried several varieties from the bread aisle but they’re too moist and won’t stand up to a hefty burger. I’ve got a lead to dry some from Kroger Deli and plan to do so with my next batch. As always, enjoy!! Oh, apologies for not having pictures but I ate my batch before thinking of writing the post…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Another “Original” – Hamburgers

Leave a Reply

