Cookies!

Y’all. This might be the most important post I ever share. Not only is this a recipe post, but it is the cookie post. If more than 6 weeks go by and I haven’t made these, Jeff might leave me and no other cookies are acceptable in their place. The original recipe was “Ruth’s Chocolate Chip Cookies” if that sounds familiar to any of my maternal family. The other day I upgraded some of my cookie making tools and definitely perfected my adaptation of the recipe. They’re a little chewy, preferably a little underdone, and just enough chocolate per bite. Let’s do this!

Chelsea’s Cookies

  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1.5 cups brown sugar
  • 1.5 cups white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 teaspoons vanilla
  • 4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 16 oz mini semi sweet chocolate chips

In a large mixing bowl, mix first 6 ingredients (wets). In a separate bowl combine the next 4 ingredients (drys).  Once the wets have come together in a consistent mixture, add the combined dry ingredients a scoop at a time, allowing the batter to combine after each scoop. Beware of the speed of your mixer and the amount of dry ingredients you add… I’ve had more than my fair share of flour explosions. Once everything is mixed, add in the chocolate!! All of em, baby.  After everything is mixed, cover the bowl and refrigerate for at least several hours, or until you’re ready to bake in the next few days. The chilled dough helps to prevent spread as the cookies bake.

Speaking of bake, crank the oven to 375 degrees. My oven sucks, so I have to verify the temperature with a thermometer as pictured. Each pan will bake for 10 minutes, or 5.5 minutes if baking two pans and rotating halfway through. When they’re done the bottoms will be brown and just barely visibly so, and the tops will be lightly cracked but not really browned or tan and deflate after coming out of the oven. Like I said, we like them on the gooey side. If using a small cookie scoop, the recipe will make approximately 7 dozen 2″ cookies. Oh yeah. Seven. Dozen. Cookies. If you notice the recipe is easily halved ;). I generally make a half batch and definitely recommend a good cookie scoop, good cookie pans/sheets, and silicone baking mats if you make cookies with any frequency. My Pampered Chef scoops work great, but I’ve not had any luck with more store brands. My new little scoop is Piazza brand from Williams-Sonoma. It seems to be of a very study build so I have high hopes that the gears will hold.

That’s it! Those are the cookies and the secret to how I snagged my fiance. I suggest eating a handful with a nice cold glass of chocolate milk. We tend to drink straight from the jug so if you happen to be visiting… maybe check and confirm that the milk in the fridge is fit for sharing lol. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

